Ladies Gaelic Football


A ladies football tournament was set up in Gusserane by Larry Fitzharris, Seamus Keevans and Statia Rossiter. A cup was sponsored by Philip Wallace, Ballycullane and this was won by Cloughbawn. The present Shelmalier Club, which was then Public Services Football Club, had previously played gaelic football in Cork in 1977.
This led to the formation in 1979 of the Wexford Ladies Gaelic Football County Board at a meeting held in Gusserane on the 27th May, which was presided over by “Mr Football”, Seamus Keevans.
Ladies football had officially arrived in Wexford.


At that first meeting, the following officers were elected to the County Board:

  • Chairman: John Hanton (Fethard)
  • Vice-Chairman: Larry Fitzharris (Gusserane)
  • Secretary: Bridget O’Dwyer (Old Ross)
  • Assistant Secretary: Mena Murphy (Old Ross)
  • Treasurer: Statia O’Dwyer (Gusserane)

The clubs affiliated to Wexford Ladies Gaelic Footballl County Board in 1997 were:

Gusserane, Wexford Town, Forth Celtic, Old Ross, Ballyhogue, Fethard, Cloughbawn, Adamstown and Horeswood. Fourth Celtic were the first league champions, beating Adamstown in a play off by 4-2 to 0-1, and Cloughbawn became the first championship winners, also defeating Adamstown in the final by 5-0 to 0-1. In the Leinster Club Championship, Cloughbawn were defeated by the Laois champions Crettyard.

The first county team took the field on the 17th August 1979 in the Leinster senior championship against Offaly and were defeated by 4-7 to 0-0. That first Wexford team was:
Paula Foley, Mena Murphy, Anne Whelan, Nora Fleming, Philomena Murphy Christine Kehoe, Anne Byrne, Pat Codd, Ester Foley, Geraldine Banville, Brigid Bradley, Breda Murphy, Brigid Rossiter, Anne Redmond, Brigid O’Dwyer.
Subs: Liz Redmond Mary Rose Wickham Doreen Stephenson, The three selectors were Matt O’Neill, Larry Fitzharris and Pat Quill.