Ladies Gaelic Football

The Leinster U-12 Football Blitz took place last Saturday in Carlow and Wexford were represented with two teams.the A team played in DIvision 1 while the B team were Victorious in Division 3

Victorious U12 B Team Winning Division 3 Title.

Victorious U12 B Team Winning Division 3 Title

The first team under the guidance of MJ Berry and Kathleen Banville played in division 1 and while they didn’t win any game they were always competitive. They started slow and were defeated by Kildare 4-7 to 2-1 in the first game. They played Meath A in the second game and were unlucky to lose 2-3 to 2-0. In the final game against Westmeath they played their best football and were denied reaching a three way play off when they conceded a last minute goal to lose 1-4 to 1-2.

Wexford A: Amy Cousins Kilmore, Eimear O’Donnagáin Sarsfields, Fiona Bernarius Blackwater, Liadh Dwyer Volunteers, Clodagh Walsh St Martins, Holly Sinnott Clonard, Elena Kenny Horeswood, Ciara Bridges Sarsfields, Sophie Boxwell Kilmore, Michelle Cullen St Fintans, Eimear Byrne Starlights, Ciara Banville Taghmon/Camross, Anais Curran Starlights, Jane Rossiter Bannow/Ballymitty, Sarah Shiggins Clonard, Ava Kelly Crossabeg/Ballymurn, Lauren Murphy Sarsfields, Kira Bates Crosbie Kilmore, Megan Fitzhenry White St Annes, Emma Clarke Taghmon/Camross.

The Wexford B team were put into division 3 and were looked after by David Shiggins and Aideen Sutton. They played Laois B in their first game and won 6-4 to 2-0. Their second game was against Cill Dara and here they were defeated 2-4 to 1-0 and while this was the only game they lost it was also the last time they conceded a score because in the next two games they held Carlow and Louth scoreless while scoring 5-1 and 4-4 respectively. This left three teams on 9 points, Cill Dara, Louth and Wexford and to decide who would compete in the final the three teams had to kick points from the 20m line. The three teams had five players step up and each team converted three, so it was sudden death and when the Cill Dara missed her attempt the Louth and Wexford players pointed to send them through. The final was played in a downpour and Wexford again held Louth scoreless while scoring 1-3 themselves.

Wexford B: Olivia McDonnell Kilmore, Ali O’Leary Glynn/Barntown, Caoimhe Kehoe Ballyhogue, Grace Cloney Adamstown, Michelle Carty Taghmon/Camross, Jane Purcell Blackwater, Chelsea Pitman Clonard, Ailish Neville Shelmalier, Michelle Kinsella Horeswood, Sherene Hamilton Ballygarrett, Rosie McGuckian Naomh Eanna, Cliona Power St Annes, Amy Fortune Crossabeg/Ballymurn, Nadine Cunningham St Annes, Grace Cousins Kilmore, Rachel Power Adamstown, Ciara Moore St Annes, Aileen Berry Kilmore, Marie Sutton Blackwater.

Panel members who were unable to travel were: Chloe Kavanagh Crossabeg/Ballymurn, Amy O’Leary St Martins, Roisín Parker Horeswood, Faye Prendergast Horeswood, Isobel Carroll Blackwater, Sarah O’Leary Volunteers and Hannah Hynes Volunteers.